Proclaim!

Proclaim!
by Danny Tariman

“Go into the whole world and proclaim the Gospel to every creature.” – Mark 16:15

This verse is a tall order.

Many times, I shrink at the thought of this “call” to go and proclaim the Gospel. I usually think that proclaiming means preaching or sharing the Word of God.

How do I tell people about the Gospel? Do I organize a ministry? Do I give a talk? These questions would run in my mind. But I realized lately that a better way of “proclaiming” is “doing the Word,” not just speaking about it. I realized that the Lord wants me to “preach” in action and not in word.

One day, my daughter confided to me her wish for her birthday: a free dental service to benefit the poor. We gathered dentists and friends to join our family for this unique celebration. On her birth month, we went to this remote rural village together with a dental team and performed our mission. It was a mission of love.

The rural folks tell me, “Thank you, Bro. Danny. We are so lucky to get these services for free.”

I believe this is love in action — the very way I sense the Lord is telling me to “go and proclaim” the Gospel.

Reflection:
You do not have to say it to proclaim it. Share the Gospel through your actions.

Prayer:
Father, grant me the grace I need to proclaim the gospel of love.

[This reflection was earlier published in Didache 2017, Jan 25]

Leave a Reply

