Mambukal: Nature At Its Best

Mambukal: Nature At Its Best
by Danny Tariman

We had been driving around town, and to a themed park in the middle of the mountain, in this visit to Negros Occidental. We had been enjoying the place, so far. But there are still more places to go.

mam01
My family at the Mambukal welcome marker

This time, we are going to Mambukal Mountain Resort, a provincial-government-run resort in Negros. It took us about an hour and a half to drive from the city of Bacolod.

It was quite a surprise for me to see a very nice, well-maintained resort at par with privately-run resorts.

On our arrival, we were greeted by the Mambukal marker, with flowing water. It was a refreshing sight: the roads are lined with thick foliage, all greens to my left and to my right.

I had noted nice cottage houses too. My cousin told me that these cottages are for rent for guests who prefer to stay overnight. There was also a pavilion where one can host a party.

What attracted me best was the serene, scenic view of the lagoon, lined with ornamental plants. I saw some kayak on one end, which was very inviting to ride and paddle in the middle of the lagoon! I really like this place!

The Mambukal lagoon
The Mambukal lagoon

The resort has also “dipping pool” with hot-spring water. The pool is good for those who would like to relax tired muscles. Next to this ‘dipping pool’ is another hot-spring water pool – a Japanese-inspired. Aside from being Japanese-inspired, the difference of this area from the other hot pool is the temperature – this is hotter than the dipping pool.

The dipping pool of Mambukal
The dipping pool of Mambukal

Beside these hot-spring pools is a flowing stream of river. Wow, really a relaxing moment with nature. I had also watched the tree tops in this area, as I had noted some creatures perched on top of the trees. Yes, there were bats! Haha! But since it was daytime when we visited the place, they were ‘parked’ on the tree tops.

The resort also offers a trek to a falls. We decided not to take it, for shortness of time. I was told it is a good 15-minute trek.

Bats resting at tree tops
Bats resting at tree tops

The resort has a row of restaurants offering sea food, and you got it – the famous Bacolod chicken!

My family had a good walk around the resort. It was quite big, and thus a bit tiring. But we all enjoyed the refreshing cool mountain air, the thick tropical plants and trees all over the place.

Really a good nature-bonding experience for my family!

My family in front of the Japanese-inspired garden
My family in front of the Japanese-inspired garden
Another warm pool, hotter than the dipping pool
Another warm pool, hotter than the dipping pool
The road lined with thick foilage
My family walking or trekking the road lined with thick foliage at the mountain resort 
Another view of the laggon
Another view of the lagoon
Naturally refreshing sights of the resort
Naturally refreshing sights of the resort
Another view of the lagoon
Another view of the lagoon
Leave a Reply

