Catching Up

Catching Up
by Danny Tariman

“Jesus… sat down with his disciples.”  (John 6:3)

“It’s been a long time. Come, let’s have some coffee,” I told Fidel over the phone. He’s a long-time friend I hadn’t seen for many months and I wanted to catch up with him.

When he alighted from his vehicle, I saw his smiling face, exuding joy and happiness. I’ve known him for almost 20 years and have seen him pass through trials and victories. It was good to hear that his family has just moved to a better home and his kids are all doing well in school and at work. It is a story of deliverance: from the constant struggle of “just getting by” to enjoying a “life to the full” (John 10:10).

I’m blessed when I reconnect with friends. Their stories strengthen my faith in the Lord. When they go through times of long-drawn difficulty and yet continue to trust in Him, I see God’s saving grace at work in their lives.

A simple fellowship. A simple story. But it was something that built me up and inspired me. That’s why the Bible says, “Therefore, encourage one another and build one another up, as indeed you do” (1 Thessalonians 5:11).

Reflection:
Pope Francis Says: “I think this is truly the most wonderful experience we can have: to belong to a people walking, journeying through history together with our Lord, who walks among us! We are not alone; we do not walk alone. We are part of the one flock of Christ that walks together.”

Prayer
Lord, thank You for friends. May You always be in our midst as we fellowship with one another. Amen.

[This reflection was first published in Didache April 8, 2016]

Leave a Reply

