Volts and Nuts

Volts and Nuts
by Danny Tariman

“Nothing will be impossible for you.” (Matthew 17:20)

My vehicle’s battery is dead. I tried to start the engine but only ‘clicks’ from the ignition can be heard.

I and my wife were in a nearby province north of Manila. I frantically called my son back in the city to phone the call center of battery company who services cars stalled on highways and roads. Unfortunately, it was a Sunday, and the shops were closed.

We prayed. We asked the Lord in faith that we will be able to run again.

The good thing is we were with our car mechanic.

He checked the battery terminals and found out that the negative clip was not securely fastened. This could be a reason the battery is dead. It did not charge while we were traveling.

Fortunately, we parked just across an auto-supply shop that sells car battery clips. But no battery.

Our mechanic, knowing that the battery is discharged, just put on the clip and securely fastened it to the terminal.

I started the engine. He couldn’t believe that it started. A miracle indeed happening before our very eyes!

“I tell you the truth, if you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; nothing will be impossible for you.” (Matthew 17:20)

We were finally able to drive again.

As we drove back to the city, our mechanic told us another story involving our other car a few months back.

We have this other car checked by him at his shop because I hear an unusual sound at the front while driving.

Upon inspection, he pointed to me that there was this big nut supposed to hold another part near the front tire’s axle. And it is missing. Wow! Thank You Lord we didn’t had any road accident!

I asked if I can buy the item from a store. He said it is not usually available. He told me further that he might have that single missing piece of nut in his house garage. Being a mechanic, he usually have a stock of spare nuts – old and new.

So I requested that he bring the following day that nut we were looking for.

He related to us that he tried to look for that nut in his boxes of bolts and nuts when he arrived home from work. He found nothing. He tried again, piece per piece, looking for the item. And again, he found none.

He said he prayed that the Lord will show it to him. In jest he told us “you are close to God that is why I believe the Lord will show it to me”. Laughs.

Just when he was about to quit and sleep for the night, he found that single missing nut!

Whatever you ask in prayer, if you believe, you will receive. (Matthew 21:22)

Truly the Lord works miracles! Have faith in God.

Thank You Lord for giving us a mechanic who believes in You!

Leave a Reply

