Availability, Not Ability

Availability, Not Ability
by Danny Tariman

“He will not speak on his own, but he will speak…” (John 16:13)

In his early years, he was so shy, timid, reserved and quiet. The thought of standing in front of people to talk would send chills down his spine. “It is just not my forte,” he would say. A few years after he met the Lord in 1995, he was called to serve Him in a very “special” way: to proclaim the Good News!

Mustering all his courage, he answered, “Here I am Lord, I’m available. Send me!” That was the breakthrough in his life. From a timid and shy person to a Spirit-filled lay preacher.

As I write this reflection, the Church celebrates World Mission Sunday. Earlier today, I was speaking at the Catholic Charismatic Renewal gathering of the Archdiocese of Port Moresby exhorting people to serve the Lord, to go on mission.

I told them this story — my story of transformation. I had no ability. I only had the availability. I relied on the Lord, and He enabled me. “Do not worry how you are to speak or what you are to say, you will be given at that moment what you are to say” (Matthew 10:19).

In that gathering, about 30 people, young and old, committed themselves to serve the Lord.

Reflection:
Do you feel that the Lord is calling you yet you feel you have no ability? Just say yes and He will empower you!

Prayer:
Lord, thank You for calling me to serve You. May Your Spirit continue to lead me as I deliver Your Good News! Amen.

[This reflection was first published in Didache, May 12, 2010]

Leave a Reply

