Free to Obey

Free to Obey
by Danny Tariman

“Our old self was crucified with him, so that… we might no longer be in slavery to sin.” – Romans 6:6

Grumbler. Disobedient. Proud. These were my workplace traits.

As a young professional striving to move up, I would almost always find a way to complain about what my boss would tell me. I’d question his wisdom, thinking, “I know about computers more than him. I know what I am doing!”

Consequently, running into trouble at work was a normal happening. I didn’t know that when I disobeyed my boss, I was disobeying the Lord.

As I got renewed in the Spirit, I came across the Word in Romans 13:1-2 which says, “Let every person be subordinated to the higher authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been established by God. Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed.”

I repented.

As I strive to obey the Word now, I am blessed. The Lord is prospering my work and blessing all my undertakings (Deuteronomy 28:12).

I am now free to obey my boss!

Reflection
“Don’t just do what you have to do to get by, but work heartily, as Christ’s servants doing what God wants you to do. And work with a smile on your face, always keeping in mind that no matter who happens to be giving the orders, you’re really serving God.” (Ephesians 6:6-7, The Message)

Prayer:
Grant me, Lord, the grace to obey the authorities You’ve set above me.

[This reflection was originally published in Didache, April 3 2010]
[Photo credit: Nieva Adique]

Leave a Reply

