His Power

His Power
by Danny Tariman

The immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe. (Ephesians 1:19)

“I am almost 52 now and it will be difficult for me to get another job,” I typed.

“You can still do it,” he replied.

I was exchanging messages on Facebook with a good friend from my university days. He is now a vice president of a New York-based financial institution.

It struck me how much this guy had immense hope that I would overcome my situation. It had been over five months that I’d been looking for a job, and I was close to quitting.

How embarrassing that I, a renewed Catholic, wasn’t conscious of the power of God. My friend’s confidence reminded me that indeed, there is nothing impossible for God (Matthew 19:26)! I repented for not trusting God enough.

A few weeks later, I had an interview with a director of an overseas information and communications technology company. It was a casual chat over a cup of cappuccino in a coffeeshop. We were like good old friends who exchanged our experiences in IT.

I saw the great power of God working.

After sips of this rich coffee, I was offered a good job overseas. Just believe!

Reflection: Are you thinking of quitting? Let God be God!

Prayer:  Lord, I am sorry for not trusting You. From now on, direct my life. I fully trust in You.

[This reflection was first published in Didache, May 12, 2013]

Leave a Reply

