First Mission

First Mission
by Danny Tariman

“Set out for the great city… and preach…” – Jonah 1:2

I recall my first try to work overseas as I reflect on Jonah’s first mission.

I was hired as an IT manager of a leading retail company in Papua New Guinea. But in my heart there was a deeper mission: to spread the Good News.

My mission was a daunting task as I had no idea where to start. The city where I worked in was big. So I prayed. But for one whole year, I wasn’t able to preach. I continued to pray. After a year, doors opened wide. Opportunities to speak before various parish groups came. I became a regular preacher at the Diocesan Center for Renewal in the Archdiocese of Port Moresby. Eventually, I was chosen to head the evangelization ministry in the archdiocese.

Looking back, my first year was a time to acquaint myself with the local culture and traditions. I made friends with the locals and just allowed myself to be used as a channel of God’s love.

Thank You, Lord, for sending me to these people.

Romans 10:15 says, “How can people preach unless they are sent? As it is written, ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who bring the good news!'”

Reflection: What is your mission? Is it difficult? Just pray and continue to pursue!

Prayer: Lord, please strengthen me when I start to weaken, and encourage me when despair sets in. Amen.

[This reflection was first published in Didache 2015, Oct 4]

Leave a Reply

