Empowered Laborer

Empowered Laborer
by Danny Tariman

“The harvest is abundant, but the laborers are few.” – Matthew 9:37

The verse above contain the very words that spoke loudly in my heart many years ago. I was then on mission to help spread the Good News to a remote village. I saw a real need for people to hear God’s Word — many were beaten, discouraged, sick and downtrodden but didn’t have the chance to listen to His Word.

I started praying every day for the Master of the harvest to send out laborers into His field (Matthew 9:38).

I didn’t expect that one day He would call me to be the answer to my prayer. I was so hesitant because I was shy, scared of standing in front of people, and I was not a speaker.

But God didn’t see my weaknesses. He just saw my availability to work for Him.

As I served in the Lord’s ministry, I saw His hand transforming me.

Just like when He commissioned the Twelve and said, “Do not worry about how you are to speak or what you are to say. For you will be given at that moment what you are to say” (Matthew 10:19).

When He calls, He empowers!

Reflection: “Each of us may be sure that if God sends us on stony paths He will provide us with strong shoes, and He will not send us out on any journey for which He does not equip us well.” (Maclaren)

Lord, strengthen me in my weakness that I may serve You to the fullest. Amen.

[This reflection was first published in Didache Dec 5, 2015]

Leave a Reply

