Visiting Our Elderly

Visiting Our Elderly
by Danny Tariman

“Honor widows…” (1Tim 5:3)

The word “honor” has these meanings in the Webster dictionary: [noun] “any expression of respect or of high estimation by words or actions”; [verb] “to revere; to respect.”

I believe one of the many ways to show respect to an elderly is to visit her and spend some time with her just to chat with her and share stories. This is one family value that I wanted to impart to my grown-up children: to visit once-in-a-while our relatives and to re-connect with them, because “relationship” for me is very important.

Over the weekend, my family had the opportunity to visit two elderly widows in our family. We wanted to show our love for these elderly women. We wanted to be God’s channel of His love for them.

“Tia Glor”

My Aunt Glor or “Tiya Glor” as we fondly call her, is from my family’s lineage. She is 86 years old. She is still very strong, can go to the market by herself, has sharp memory, and can still see clearly.

My family had a wonderful time with her one Sunday. She was alone in her nice home, watching TV to pass the time. We had so many stories shared, in between sharings we held hands and even hugged each other. She is a sweet old lady.

I remember when she was still young, she was a dress-maker. She was very industrious, sewing dresses and curtains to earn a living for her big family. I am so happy that she and my deceased uncle were able to raise up their children who are now well-established with their own families too.

We were joined later by her daughter and her family. They had brought in food for our afternoon snacks. While we were enjoying the bonding time, my cousin-in-law asked that he be prayed over. (Wow, another opportunity to bring God’s healing touch!) And yes, the entire family indeed prayed for him, my cousin said she felt the Spirit moving!

“Mama Ling”

Aunt Ling or “Mama Ling” is my wife’s aunt. She is now 91 years old. At her age, she is still well-composed, can carry a good conversation. Although a bit weak now, she still got the charm she used to have in her younger years.

When we visited her one Sunday, my family just popped-in into her room at our cousin’s very nice house. She was surprised and very happy to see my family. She was so gracious to offer us to seat beside her on her bed as she saw me and my son just standing.

In the past, we would visit her at her home in San Juan, in Metro-Manila. She was very hospitable and full of stories. She loves my family, and I felt I was her “favorite”. Haha! I know some will disagree! This is how she loves her ‘children’, you really will feel you are her favorite.

It was indeed a wonderful weekend, capped with visits to our relatives. It was a good time to re-connect with them, and to share our love, specially with our old aunts.

I remember this passage in the Bible —

“Honor your father and mother,” which is the first commandment accompanied by a promise, namely, “that it may go well with you and that you will live a long time on the earth.” (Eph 6:2-3)

We consider these two elderly ladies as our “second mother”. And I believe the promised blessings in Ephesians 6:2-3 are on us, and will be with us in the years to come!

Reflection: when was the last time you had visited an elderly in your life?

Leave a Reply

