Food for the Body, Food for the Soul

Food for the Body, Food for the Soul
by Danny Tariman

Jesus answered them and said, “Amen, amen, I say to you, you are looking for me not because you saw signs, but because you ate all the loaves and were filled.” (John 6:26)

I once heard a parish servant who was complaining about having to prepare food for a meeting.

“Why is it necessary to prepare food? Are we not all servants in the ministry?”

Silently I was just praying that one day, he will realize that food almost always accompany our ministry service.

The Bible recounts that many of Jesus’ gatherings have food, almost always. In the verse above, He even realized that people were following Him, not because of the miracles He had performed, but because they ate bread! Because of a need for food.

In my many years of ministry experience – both in the Philippines and abroad – I noticed that food is one “come-on” that brings people in. No food, less attendance. Be it prayer meetings, Bible study, or plain ministry meetings, food becomes an essential part.

Even in one-on-one evangelization. I would usually invite a friend for a cup of coffee, to bring-in Jesus or talk about ministry work.

I but don’t stop at offering just the physical food.

Because just as physical food nourishes the physical body, I would also offer spiritual food, the food that nourishes the soul.

I would share my faith experience. I would talk about Jesus. I would discuss Biblical principles. And for an organized audience, I would give a solid Christian teaching.

This way, we finish our meeting not just physically-satisfied, but also spiritually-satisfied.

As the Bible says:

“Listen carefully to me, and eat what is good, and let your soul delight itself in rich food.” (Isaiah 55:2b)

May you be spiritually-enriched, just as the Lord is enriching your body.

Leave a Reply

