A Test of Perseverance

A Test of Perseverance
by Danny Tariman

“We passionately want each of you to demonstrate the same eagerness for the fulfillment of your hope until the end…” (Hebrews 6:11)

“If our climb to Mt Pulag challenged our perseverance, this one challenged our strength”. Our daughter quipped as we continue our uphill trek to Mt Daraitan one weekend.

Mt Pulag is the Philippines 2nd highest mountain at 2922 meters above sea level. And we were trekking a much lower mountain that weekend, the Mt Daraitan at 728 meters above sea level. The difference is that while the trail in Mt Pulag was ascending slowly (on the “easy trail”), this trek is very, very steep on a rock-and-mud trail.

From the foot of the mountain, I can see the summit clearly. It seemed a short distance. Much shorter than the Mt Pulag trail. But the real challenge was the steep ascend of about 60-70 degrees.

I and my wife, at mid-fifties, found the climb hard. But we were determined to make it to the top! Our aim was to reach the summit. In my mind, after reading a lot of blogs, I was hoping we will reach it in 2 ½ hours.

Despite the difficulties – at times our foot would slip through, or at times we lost our balance, we persevered! We were dead-set to make it to the top.

Just like in our faith walk.

We have to remain focused on our goal, always maintaining our eyes toward the finish-line, while keeping in mind that the LORD is with us.

“Run with endurance the race set out for us, keeping our eyes fixed on Jesus” (Hebrew 12:1b-2)

There might be trials along the way. Sometimes answer to prayers does not happen as we want, but never think that God is not answering our prayers. Sometimes we stumble and fall, but we have to quickly rise again.

We have to keep running. We have to keep our faith alive.

During this trek, a slipped my foot at least 2 times. I was scared because of the very steep slope. But this did not deter me from pursuing to the top.

The two-and-a-half hours of steep uphill climb almost drained my strength. I endured the difficulties. I pulled all the strength I can get to keep my legs walking. And I think the rest of my family who were trekking with me felt the same.

Until we finally reached the top! And we saw the breathtaking view of the river at the foot of the mountain below. I can only say “Thank You, LORD!”

All the hardships, all the difficulties were nothing compared to the feat of reaching the top; of achieving our goal.

As the Bible says:

“Whoever prevails shall possess these things. And I will be his God, and he shall be my son.” (Revelation 21:7)

I pray that the Lord will grant you grace to persevere in the difficult trail you may be experiencing right now, in Jesus name. [Say “Amen” if you believe.]

One thought on “A Test of Perseverance”

Leave a Reply

