The Gorgeous Marine Life of Anilao

The Gorgeous Marine Life of Anilao
by Danny Tariman

It was a long weekend, a good time to break free from the hassles and busyness of daily living in the city. This time, my family decided to go to one of the most famous diving spots near Metro-Manila: Anilao in Mabini town, Batangas, and explore the undersea beauty.

We left the city at about 7 in the morning and had a long drive via the South Luzon Expressway, then continued via Calamba-Sto Tomas Expressway, and finally passing through the Star Tollway. It was an easy drive running an average of 100kph up to Batangas City.

An awesome view of the sunset in Anilao photographed by my son.

From the city, we drove slowly though traffic in Bauan, and finally reaching Mabini. (You may check the Google Maps for the details of the road).

We reached the resort at about 10 o’clock in the morning. It was a long drive through traffic from Batangas City, but no complain because I enjoy driving with my family.

We checked-in at Arthur’s Place Diving Resort. It has nice and clean rooms at very affordable price. We were surprised, most of the resort’s guests were foreigners. I think we were the only group who were all Filipino. Haha! But don’t think that the room rates are expensive, because it is not. The meals at the resort were also good! All were reasonably-priced and offers a good variety.

Arthur's Place Diving Resort: simple & clean accommodation just fronting a diving spot.
Arthur’s Place Diving Resort: simple & clean accommodation just fronting a diving spot with the same name.

Immediately, our children took the beach and the sea. The resort was just in front of Arthur’s Place, one of the popular diving spots in the area; the reason why there were a number of boats filled with divers just in front of the resort.

Just a few meters from the shore is a good snorkeling area. The sea bed has a great bio-diversity of various marine creatures and fishes – it was all colorful. The place is really good for those who are afraid of the deep, because it is only about chest-level deep, at most. Make sure to wear aqua-shoes or any appropriate footwear to avoid any foot injury, as it got plenty of corals and live rocks.

I and my wife trying it out in the shallow portion of the snorkeling area.
I and my wife trying it out in the shallow portion of the snorkeling area.

The afternoon was really a good time to watch the sun sets down and hides in the horizon. The sky turned to amber and the view was simply glorious! I and my children took many different photo shots to capture the beautiful sunset.

A highlight of our trip was the dive to the deep. Wow, our children went down to 20 feet down the sea while I was just skimming the surface, taking the photos while they submerge. I was able to take many shots of colorful corals and fishes.

Colorful corals and fishes in the deep, as taken by my daughter.
Colorful corals and fishes in the deep, as taken by my daughter.

The most beautiful shots, though, were the ones taken by my daughter in the deep. An even more colorful marine scenery captured our imagination! While we were watching the video that she took during the dive we were all awed, you can literally hear the “”Ohs” and the “Ahs”! Haha! It was really great – bright colored corals and fishes, including the iconic clown fish popularly known as “Nemo”.

My daughter also spotted a giant clam down in the deep which she was able to capture in photo. She even touched the opening! Haha! Exciting indeed! My son also spotted a lion fish with its wide dorsal fins open! Truly elegant! Another one also saw a lobster! This was really an experience for all of us.

A giant clam spotted by my daughter in her dive of the deep.

Driving back home, we passed by a resto for lunch where we had the famous Batangas bulalo – a soupy dish of beef shank and vegies, slow cooked in low fire. The meat just peels off the bone!

Really a good time for our family! We certainly look forward to another dive in this wonderful diving resort.

My wife & me at the shores of Anilao.
My wife & me at the shores of Anilao.
A
A “groufie” of my family at the resort.
A starry night at the shoreline of Anilao, as taken by my son.
Under-the-sea view, as taken by my daughter: colorful corals & fishes
Under-the-sea view, as taken by my daughter: colorful corals & fishes
Taken at the snorkeling area near the shores: even in shallow waters,  marine life is fantastic
Taken at the snorkeling area near the shores: even in shallow waters, marine life is fantastic
A diver in the deep, as taken by my daughter.
A diver in the deep, as taken by my daughter.
Leave a Reply

