“Boss-Friend”

“Boss-Friend”
by Danny Tariman

“You are my friends if you do what I command you.” (John 15:14)

Jesus is my Master, my Lord, my King.

I want to be His friend.

The Bible in John 15:14 is clear about it: we can be friends with Him if we obey His command.

The key to our friendship with Him is our obedience to Him.

This is the same in our offices, in ministries, and in everything where we work with leaders.

It feels light and easy if we are friends with our superiors, right?

The same Biblical principle applies to our relationship or friendship with our earthly masters: we have to obey them.

In fact in the Book of Romans, it is emphasized:

“Every person must be subject to the governing authorities, for no authority exists except by God’s permission. The existing authorities have been established by God, so that whoever resists the authorities opposes what God has established” (Romans 13:1-2)

As a manager in an office, I tend to be easy on my staff who follow my directions. In fact, because of the trust they have earned from me, I would give the more critical tasks to these people. And they are just happy to do it for me. After office work, we are friends.

But this is not the kind of relationship I have with people who does not follow my instructions. I tend to be firm and strict with them. And yes, they consider me as a ‘boss’ and not as a ‘friend’.

As a leader in church volunteer groups, I have the same feeling: those who follow what I tell them to do are friends with me.

It is quite hard for a leader to be friends with people who does not obey what you tell them to do. Let us lighten their task.

Let’s be friends with our leaders, with our earthly masters, just as we wanted to be friends with Jesus.

Let us obey them. Because as we obey them, we also obey the Lord (Romans 13:1-2).

May the Lord empower you to obey your leaders, and prosper you in return!

Leave a Reply

