A Secret of Happy, Satisfied Life

A Secret of Happy, Satisfied Life
by Danny Tariman

“I have learned to be content in any circumstance. I have experienced times of need and times of abundance. In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of contentment, whether I go satisfied or hungry, have plenty or nothing.” (Phil 4:11-12)

“It’s too dark here!”

An officer complained as she barged into my office area. One or two of the ceiling lights were busted.

The lights were fixed in a couple of days, she barged again saying,

“It’s too bright here!”

I had noted that she would almost always complain of the circumstances around her.

“It’s too hot” when the aircon was set above 25 degrees, or “It’s too cold” when the temperature was set below 25 degrees.

“It’s very quiet here, Danny” she will tell me when I am all alone in my area. But when there are other persons working where I am, she will say “Danny, isn’t it too noisy?”

My dear reader, can you relate?

At times, we too, tend to complain just about anything.

When you were still living in an apartment, you will say, “If I can only live in my own house, I will be happy”.

You were blessed with a new house of your own. In the later years you will say “If only I have a bigger house….”

Or you say “If I only earn at least $800, I will be happy.” And then after a couple of years, you were earning $1,000, and you will complain “My $1,000 is just making ends meet!”

The Bible says, we have to be content with what we have!

​​​​​​It is better to be content with what the eyes can see ​​​​​​than for one’s heart always to crave more. (Eccl 6:9)

There is no wrong in dreaming for more. I always aim higher in my endeavors, in my workplace, and in my personal life. I usually want to break my previous record, in achieving higher goals. It is okay. But do it with a thankful, cheerful heart!

Be happy with what you have!

Your conduct must be free from the love of money and you must be content with what you have (Heb 13:5)

Instead of complaining, you say “Thank You LORD that I am earning now $800. Thank You for this blessing! I pray I will empower me to outdo my previous performance, so that I can earn my goal of $1,000.”

Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I say, rejoice! In every situation, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, tell your requests to God. (Phil 4:4,6)

​Contentment brings happiness!

​​​​​A bright look brings joy to the heart, ​​​​​​and good news gives health to the body. (Prov 15:30)

When you live with a thankful heart and joyful disposition, you will feel younger and stronger. It will show in your countenance!

I pray you will live a happier, satisfied life!

2 thoughts on “A Secret of Happy, Satisfied Life”

  1. Yes, truly there’s never a dull moment when you are fused in the divine will. You only have to believe in God’s providence and everything will be alright in achieving one’s goal of a truly Christian happy life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

