Trusting in God

Trusting in God
by Danny Tariman

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, whose trust is the LORD” (Jeremiah 17:7)

It was a usual morning.

While waiting for a ride going to my workplace, I took out my mobile phone, and read the Mass readings for the day.

In the middle of so many people at the train station, the LORD spoke to me very clearly as I read the verse above.

My heart leaped for joy because it promises blessings for those who trust in Him.

As I read the meaning of “blessed” in the dictionary, my faith is even more strengthened. It says, the word means –

“Happy; prosperous in worldly affairs; enjoying spiritual happiness and the favor of God”

Happy; prosperous in worldly affairs. This means to me that the LORD will bless my ordinary, daily endeavors, and even mundane activities! I believe He will prosper me in my workplace! He will prosper our finances. He will prosper our health. He will prosper our dealings. Yeah, even “worldly affairs”.

Enjoying spiritual happiness. For me, this means inner joy, inner peace, and happy relationships that only the LORD can give!

Enjoying the favor of God. This one really blew my mind: favor of God! Imagine enjoying God’s favor! This means “rugged roads” are smoothened, “mountains” are flattened, “zigzag paths” are made straight… all for me to enjoy God’s favor! The word “favor” means goodness, kindness, or goodwill granted!

I remember experiencing God’s favor at the airport recently. In December when passenger traffic was at its peak, my family were to board a plane to Mindanao. The queue was so long with thousands of passengers lining to check-in. The entire situation was becoming chaotic. But God in His goodness, we were led to a much better way, a very fast check-in process which only few passengers noticed: an online check-in counter within the departure area. In few minutes, we were processed without the long queue! That’s the favor of God – He made our zigzag path straight!

But this promise has a condition: I have to trust in the LORD.

Trust means the confidence that we put in the LORD. It means too our full reliance on Him.

Yes, I continue to put my trust in the LORD. And I know, my dreams will come true, in His time.

I pray that you too, will experience His blessings today, as you put your trust in Him!

Leave a Reply

