Bonding in Gardening

Bonding in Gardening
by Danny Tariman

“I planted, Apollos watered, but God caused it to grow.” (1Corinthians 3:6)

 

My wife loves plants, and loves to plant. She’s a “green thumb”.

But I am not.

Her garden along the pathway.
Her garden along the pathway.

There are a few things that we do or we like the opposite.

And this is one of them.

But we still blend together. She plants, I water.

Once in a while, we do gardening together.

While she removes dead and dried leaves, I water.

While she cultivates the soil around the plants, I water.

While she plants or transplants, I water.

And there is one common activity we do together – weeding.

This weeding-out activity takes longer. We sit beside each other on a stool. While pulling out weeds, we share a lot of stories. Funny stories, sometimes problem stories.

We share our dreams. We share our plans. We share our wishes.

One of her flowering orchids
One of her flowering orchids

Really a good time for bonding.

There are many ways to reach-out and to connect with your spouse. I mean, MANY. Some go to dinner dates, and others do house chores together.

But this one is simple, yet good quality time.

It makes me happy. I believe she is happy too.

This makes us an inch closer to each other.

May the Lord strengthen our relationship, and yours!

 

Leave a Reply

