Escape in Puerto Galera

Escape in Puerto Galera
by Danny Tariman

My family’s escape to Puerto Galera is an experience that I will never forget. I had grown up in a town by the sea but never in my life had I interacted with many fishes while in Puerto Galera. I had my first experience of fishes literally feeding on my hands and kissing/petting my arms.

My family enjoying the beach and the sea.
My family enjoying the beach and the sea.

We left Manila for a 3-day weekend adventure in Puerto Galera. We took an air-conditioned bus to Batangas City from Alabang, south of Metro Manila. It was a comfortable 2 ½ hours ride – so comfortable that I almost sleep if not for the excitement that keeps my heart jumping.

We arrived in Batangas City port at about 9:30 in the morning, and immediately lined up for ticket to Tamaraw Beach in Aninuan, Puerto Galera. You have to know your beach destination so you can ride the correct boat. We were headed to Sunset at Aninuan hotel which is along the Tamaraw Beach.

The boat is an oversized outrigger which can accommodate about 60 all-seated passengers. During our travel, the sea was calm and so my entire family enjoyed the trip.

Aboard the boat which took us to the island.
Aboard the boat which took us to the island.

After almost two hours, we reached the first stop – the White Beach. It was a long stretch of powdery white sand meeting the crystal clear blue waters. This beach has a lot of stores lining the shore, and plenty of hotels and B&B accommodations. This is beach has an active night life, the locals say. This is where we bought some souvenir items. But this is not our destination as my family enjoys a more quiet place.

The White Beach near the resort where we stayed.
The White Beach near the resort where we stayed.

In just about 10 or 15 minutes, we were transported to our destination, the Aninuan beach. The place is perfectly romantic, with its gorgeous sunset view. And our hotel accommodation is truly nice too – clean and crisp room get-up, dining at tables-by-the-beach with matching candle light – truly wonderful.

The sunset view of Puerto Galera as seen from our hotel
The sunset view of Puerto Galera as seen from our hotel

The beach front of the hotel was simply good – peaceful, quite, and clean! We enjoyed it as if we were in a private family beach resort! Except for a handful foreigners who were also billeted at the hotel. We had free use of kayak, other beach “toys”, and of course life vests.

Our island hopping tour took us to other places in the Puerto Galera. During the tour, we were surprised to see – even for few minutes only – a sea turtle swimming on the surface of the sea. It dived after seeing our approaching boat.

The boat parked in front of our hotel, ready to take us for the island hopping
The boat parked in front of our hotel, ready to take us for the island hopping

It was during this island hopping where I had the opportunity to feed fishes in the wild at the snorkeling area. Wow! Literally hundred of fishes in various colors were swimming around me! As I was carrying food in my hands (sliced bread which I slowly crumble under the water), fishes were pecking my hands and my arms! It’s tickling! This is my most unforgettable experience in this trip!

We also visited an island resort, and another one – a restaurant on a sand bar where we had our lunch of fresh seafood!

The best part of this trip – we are always a family that goes out together and enjoys the company!

More photos

My family on kayak
My family on kayak
The resort hotel at night: dining area on the beach
The resort hotel at night: dining area on the beach
The beach front at the resort.
The beach front at the resort.
Leave a Reply

