Storms & Floods

Storms & Floods
By Danny Tariman

“Everyone who hears these words of mine and does them is like a wise man who built his house on rock. The rain fell, the flood came, and the winds beat against that house, but it did not collapse because it had been founded on rock. Everyone who hears these words of mine and does not do them is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain fell, the flood came, and the winds beat against that house, and it collapsed; it was utterly destroyed!” (Matthew 7:24-27)

I was watching the news on TV in Manila last night. The 2 major TV broadcasts focused mainly on the storm that had just passed by the Philippines.

Several places in Metro Manila and in many provinces in Luzon were inundated by floods. Some areas were knee-deep, while others were waist deep.

But what struck me was this house in Bugalion town where a house was washed out by the floods. The video footage shows that the house’s foundation was loose soil. This is why the flood easily swept away its foundation and the house that sits on it.

This scene reminds me of how many of us Catholics and Christians are similarly situated.

When problems, or troubles, or trials come our way, we are easily swept away. We feel devastated, we do not know what to do, we feel so helpless!

This should not be so!

Because we have a big God who is bigger than our biggest problem! He is the God who can help us make it through.

But if we do not have a personal relationship with this big God, how do we know He can help us? Or how do we ask for His help? This relationship is a key to know Him.

To know Him, we need to hear and read His Word – the Bible.

But as the Bible verse says, hearing alone is not sufficient; we need to be doers of the Word, we need to apply and  practice the Word in our daily lives. And when we do this, we will be like a house built on a solid rock.

Yes, the news on TV also showed many houses that were flooded but stood still in the middle of the flooded streets. I’d like to believe that those houses were standing on solid foundation.

Our Christian foundation is the Word of God. If we apply the Word in our daily lives, yes, we will still experience storms and floods in our lives, but we will not be swept away or destroyed. Because we are standing on solid rock – that is JESUS!

Yes, Jesus is our firm foundation!

One thought on “Storms & Floods”

  1. I have decided to go through a life away from community involvement to lessen my external activities and focus on resting more so my wife and I can conceive a baby.

    For years, my community commitment has been instrumental in my prayer life and service. This time, I have detached my self from community life to embark in this new journey. It is true that our prayer life sets the foundation of our faith whether you are in a community or not. My wife and I still take time to read the Bible together. Take away everything, how strong and deeply rooted are you with God? It is indeed the relationship you hold unto with Him that gets you through challenegs and trials… but most of all allow you to grow stronger, mature and convicted. I appreciate the values I learnt from community life as I apply them daily. But it will be a temporary detachment, as I will be back soon to continue my service through the community.

    Like

Leave a Reply

