Responding to the Call

Responding to the Call
by Danny Tariman

Jesus said to them, “Follow me, and I will make you become fishers of men.” And immediately they left their nets and followed him. (Mark 1:17-18)

I remember when I was first called to serve in a church ministry. I had mixed emotions. I was excited to serve but at the same time, many things were coming to my mind that made me hesitant to respond to the call: I was inadequate, I was shy, I lacked the ability, my job, and so many others.

If we read the Bible on how the first disciples responded to the call, the response was immediate.

When Simon & Andrew were called, they immediately left their nets and followed him. They did not had any second thoughts about their current job — that of being fishermen. The verse says “they immediately left their nets”.

When Matthew was called to follow the LORD, he “rose and followed him” (Matthew 9:9). Again it was immediate. He did not say, “Lord, let me fix my desk first and sort this out, then I will see you later”. The verse says “he rose and followed”.

How many of us when called to serve the LORD cannot immediately follow?

Let me tell you my experience. I said “Yes” immediately, despite my inadequacies. There I saw how the LORD transformed me. Quickly.

As a popular line goes “the LORD looks at your availability, not your ability”.

Go ahead, say “Yes” and you will see the hand of God equiping you.

Blessings!

3 thoughts on “Responding to the Call”

  1. I certainly believe in this. Our “Yes” to God bring miracles and wonders beyond our imaginations. Blessings overflow and you never lack in your needs. Thank you for reminding me on this Bro Danny… At some points of my life, I got afraid of saying Yes to my Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

