Giving Jesus

Giving Jesus
by Danny Tariman

Her neighbors and relatives heard that the Lord had shown His great mercy to her, and they rejoiced with her. – Luke 1:58

Just before I wrote this reflection, I called my family back in Manila. They were busy buying gifts to give this Christmas.

Maybe by the time you read this, you may have completed your shopping. Maybe you are now busy wrapping or even ready to give away the gifts.

Giving and receiving gifts makes Christmas fun but we sometimes forget the real reason for the celebration. As I read the Gospel today, the Spirit spoke to my heart . “Why don’t you give Jesus this Christmas? Share Him, speak of Him.”

As you give that beautifully wrapped gift, share your experiences too with the Lord. Tell them how the Lord healed you or how He protected you. Tell them how the Lord provided for your needs. Tell them how the Lord transformed you. I know that as they hear how the Lord has shown you His love, they will rejoice with you, in the same manner as the neighbors and relatives of Elizabeth did in today’s Gospel.

Who knows? Their Christmas may become more meaningful this year because of your sharing.
REFLECTION:

Have you shared Jesus to your neighbors and relatives?

PRAYER:

Lord, forgive me for being hesitant in sharing Your name and Your love. I pray that I may make a difference this Christmas by sharing You with others.

This reflection was first published in Didache December 23, 2011

[Photo credit – edwardsosc.webs.com]
2 thoughts on “Giving Jesus”

  1. Love the reflection Bro Danny! May I be consistently bold in speaking Christ to anyone and everyone! Sahre and talk about Him to all. Holy Spirit be my strength.

    Like

  2. The name of Jesus is always mentioned in every creation by starting with Thank you Jesus to be in my mind, words an action. I am teaching now my grandchild Jesus pray in my praying, Jesus walk in my walking, Jesus thank in my thanking, praise in my praising, love in my loving, adore in my adoring, bless in my blessing Jesus in everything I do to be guided by Him. Nothing will I do without Jesus guidance…….
    this is the best gift I can share to every one…….Everyday is Christmas if JESUS is always with us……..
    HAPPY FEAST DAY OUR LADY OF THE MIRACULOUS MEDAL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

