Changing Mind, Changing Life

Changing Mind, Changing Life
by Danny Tariman

He said in reply, ‘I will not,’ but afterwards he changed his mind and went. (Mt 21:29)

In the work of evangelization, you will encounter varied responses. Most of them in the negative. Different reasons and alibis so as to escape an invitation to attend a Bible Study.

My friend Albert (not his real name) is no different from them. A confessed womanizer and a smoker (yes, you will smell him several feet away), he would almost always sneer at me when I mention “Jesus” or “Bible”.

”Saka na lang” would be his standard answer when I invite him.

But I never gave up on him.

One day, a common friend invited him to come to my birthday party. What Albert did not know is that the “party” includes a teaching of the Word.

When I lead the group to a prayer of salvation, and he was repeating after me, I know in my heart that the Lord “had” him.

Since then, he has been attending our Bible Study sessions and even opening his house to host a Bible Study. He once replied “Sorry, I can’t”, but later changed his mind and joined!

As with St Paul, I say this too: “I am confident of this, that he who began a good work in [him] will continue to complete it until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Phil 1:6) – Danny

REFLECTION:
Do you easily give up on our call to evangelize?

PRAYER:
Holy Spirit, empower me to lead people to Jesus!

[This reflection was first published in Didache on Sept 28, 2008]

Leave a Reply

